Surat Thani, which includes Ko Samui and Ko Phangan, orders hotel closure

The Tourism Authority of Thailand (TAT) would like to provide an update from Surat Thani province regarding its measures to combat the spread of the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19).

Surat Thani province administers 19 districts including the tourist islands of Ko Samui, Ko Phangan and Ko Tao, as well as Mu Ko Ang Thong Marine National Park.

Effective from 8-30 April, 2020, Surat Thani has ordered closure of all types of hotels and similar establishments, with the exception of hotels designated as field hospitals and local quarantine venues.

Hotels currently occupied, which are to be closed immediately after the last guests have checked out, must report the details of all guests to the local authorities. Any guest deemed at risk will be isolated and transferred to a designated hospital for quarantine or treatment.

TAT is constantly providing updates on the tourism-related COVID-19 situation in Thailand at the TAT Newsroom (

Keep reading this article on Richard Barrow.

Leave a Reply